Purpose Council of SA

The role of the Purpose Council is to facilitate, though influencing key decision makers and organisations, the development of an environment where the conditions exist for significant growth of the Purpose Economy in SA.

The catalyst for the establishment of the Purpose Council was to help drive the implementation of the recommendations from the Social Capital Residencies – in particular a more purposeful economy in SA. To date though the Social Capital Residencies we have focused on developing a more purposeful economy in South Australia that is better able to achieve the highest levels of social, cultural and environmental impact and we have sought to do this by:

  • Breaking down the silos between the business and social innovation ecosystems as well as the entrepreneurship and social enterprise ecosystems.
  • Supporting and inspiring start-ups, small, medium and large businesses to improve their social, cultural and environmental impact.
  • Help to bring social innovations to scale by improving the innovation ecosystem’s ability to produce investment ready social businesses, social enterprises and other for purpose businesses.
  • Changing the systems in South Australia that supports these goals though policy and culture change.

The goals of the Social Capital Residencies and the Purpose Council are broad. The council is focusing their action on the following:

  • Social Procurement
  • Impact Investment and Measurement
  • Inclusive Entrepreneurship


Members of the Council Include:

Rob DiMonte
Chair, Thinkers in Residence Social Capital Residencies

Justin Beilby
Deputy Chair
Vice Chancellor, Torrens University

Jane Arnott
General Manager, Consulting & Business Services, Community Business Bureau/Chair, SIINSA

Andrew Beer
Dean, Research and Innovation, University of South Australia Business School

Jo Chapley
General Manager, Chapley Group

Carolyn Curtis
CEO, The Australian Centre for Social Innovation

Penny Gale
CEO, The Next Age

Stuart Hocking
Deputy Chief Executive, Department of Treasury and Finance

Ritchie Hollands
Executive Director, Don Dunstan Foundation

Noel Lindsay
Pro Vice Chancellor, Entrepreneurship/ Dean of Business, The University of Adelaide Business School

David Militz
CEO, Carers SA

Sam Moore
Director, Houseadvisor

Anne Moroney
Chief Executive & Director of Regional Development, Barossa, Gawler, light and the Adelaide Plains

David Panter
Chief Executive, ECH

Jenny Paradiso
Co Founder and Director Suntrix Solar/ Board Member of the Entrepreneurship Advisory Board

David Pearson
Australian Director, Institute of Global Homelessness

Ian Nightingale
The Industry Advocate

Erma Ranieri
Commissioner for Public Sector Employment

Matt Salier
Director, New Venture Institute, Flinders University

Guy Turnbull
Former Thinker in Residence

Sandy Verschoor
Lord Mayor, City of Adelaide

Shane Webster
Regional Director, Jawun South Australia

Moira Were
Founder, Chooks SA